Finnland. Leena Lehtolainen.

Leena Lehtolainen

Leena Lehtolainen (b. 1964 in Vesanto) places women‚Äôs perspectives and gender issues at the centre of her crime novels. She is best known for her series of titles featuring Inspector Maria Kallio. The ‚ÄėBodyguard‚Äô trilogy, in which Hilja Ilveskero investigates, is very popular among fans of hardboiled novels.

The first instalment in the Maria Kallio series was published in 1993, with Ensimm√§inen murhani (published in English translation as My First Murder). That book was followed by eleven more crime novels¬†‚Äď most recently, Rautakolmio (‚ÄėThe Iron Triangle‚Äô), which came out in Finland in 2013. Books from this series have been translated into 29 languages so far, becoming a global success. Leena Lehtolainen was awarded the Johtolanka prize for the best Finnish crime novel of 1997.

Lehtolainen made her authorial debut in 1976 at the age of twelve, when her YA novel Ja √§kki√§ onkin toukokuu (‚ÄėAnd Suddenly It‚Äôs May‚Äô) was published. She later studied literature at the University of Helsinki. Along with her work as an author, she has also served as a literary critic.

German translations:

Wer ohne Schande ist, Rowohlt Verlag 2014 (erscheint am 28. August 2014), √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Das Nest des Teufels, Kindler Verlag 2014, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Der Löwe der Gerechtigkeit, Kindler Verlag 2013, Übersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Sag mir, wo die Mädchen sind, Kindler Verlag 2012, Übersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Die Leibwächterin, Rowohlt Verlag 2011, Übersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Ich war nie bei dir, Kindler Verlag 2010, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Auf der falschen Spur, Kindler Verlag 2009, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Wer sich nicht f√ľgen will, Kindler Verlag 2007, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Du dachtest, du hättest vergessen, Kindler Verlag 2007, Übersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Im schwarzen See, Kindler Verlag 2006, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Wie man sie zum Schweigen bringt, Rowohlt Verlag 2005, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Der Wind √ľber den Klippen, Rowohlt Verlag 2004, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Die Todesspirale, Rowohlt Verlag 2003, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Weiß wie die Unschuld, Rowohlt Verlag 2003, Übersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Auf die feine Art, Rowohlt Verlag 2003, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Zeit zu sterben, Rowohlt Verlag 2002, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Alle singen im Chor, Rowohlt Verlag 2002, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara
Kupferglanz, Argument Verlag 1999, √úbersetzung: Gabriele Schrey-Vasara

Photo: © Tammi